About me

At the end of 2023, I decided to restart my cycling experiences after a break since 2018. In the past, I participated in renowned Gran Fondos like the Marmotte and the Maratona dles Dolomites. Now, I ride weekly with the Valkenburgse Wielerclub, enjoying the camaraderie and the challenging routes that South Limburg and the Voer Region in Belgium have to offer.

I am 50 years old and work in the educational field as a computer science teacher and project leader of several Erasmus Plus projects across Europe. My job allows me to travel often, and I try to take my bike with me during these trips to explore new cycling routes and cultures. Through this blog, I will share my experiences, rides, travels, and cycling adventures in various European countries during my work trips.

I started cycling at the age of 4 as a hobby. At 17, I began riding competitively, but I found more joy in training rides than in competitions. After three years of competing, I decided to quit racing and focus on my studies. Since then, I’ve enjoyed riding in Gran Fondos and having fun with my friends.

Even after my break from cycling, my love for the sport remains as strong as ever. Now, I can often be found on the road, both in my home country and abroad, always searching for new routes and adventures.

Besides cycling, I also take great interest in maintaining my bikes and testing new cycling parts and accessories. I believe that a well-maintained bike is essential for a safe and enjoyable ride.